Martin Gardner House is an appealing one-and-a-half storey wood frame house built in 1937 located on the west side of Kinchant Street in North Quesnel, BC. The historic place includes the building and the parcel of land it occupies.
Martin Gardner House is located in North Quesnel which is an older residential neighbourhood in the city. While not in its original form, the house is a physical reminder of the people who shaped the development of Quesnel.
The house is named for Martin and Audrey (Oakes) Gardner in 1937. Martin Gardner was the son of pioneers, Herbert and Mary Gardner. Martin worked at a mill, drove a truck and ran a tractor. Later he bought his own truck and worked on the road between Soda Creek and Williams Lake. Martin owned a mill with his brother Alfred and his father Herbert at 12 Mile Lake. The company supplied all the lumber to the mines, stores, and homes. The business prospered and grew to include warehouses.
The Gardner men supplied the lumber for the local and export markets. They also owned the first wood kiln in the area. The lumber business expanded and, in 1956, the company purchased a freight truck to haul their own products between Vancouver, Williams Lake, and Quesnel. In 1960, the business expanded again and was renamed H. J. Gardner and Sons Building Supplies. Martin died in 1943 of a heart attack and after a time, Audrey remarried. Her second husband, Peter Vogt moved into this house where they continued to live for many years. The Gardner family is recognized for their contribution to the development of the community with a street named in their honour.
The character-defining elements of Martin Gardner House include:
- a charming one-and-a-half storey wood framed building with covered porch
- sympathetic renovations in 1962 and 1964
- clapboard siding
- a gable roof
- a positive contribution to the streetscape of buildings of similar scale, style and proportion.