Lommer House is a charming single storey wood frame house built in 1938 located on the east side of Elliott Street in West Quesnel, BC. The historic place includes the building and the parcel of land it occupies.
Lommer House is located in West Quesnel which developed as a rural community with small houses and family farms. The growth of West Quesnel was moderate until a single-lane bridge across the Fraser River was constructed in 1929. The bridge provided a permanent link between the two Quesnel communities. These communities were amalgamated into one city in 1958. In 1971, the two-lane Moffat Bridge was built and growth in West Quesnel increased steadily. While not in its original form, the house is a physical reminder of the people who shaped the development of Quesnel.
The house is named for Fred and Marg Lommer. Fred was born in Luxemburg and lived in Quesnel for twenty-four years. He was actively involved in prospecting. In his later years, Fred was seen everyday in downtown Quesnel as he made his daily trip to the post office located on Reid Street. Fred and Marg lived here for many years before selling it to Helge Malmquist. Fred died at the age of 76.
Helge and Nettie Malmquist also lived in this house. Helge was a local contactor. Nettie is believed to be the first female gold-panner in the area. She was born in 1914 and grew up Quesnel. She only had a third grade education so she turned to prospecting with her brother Archie Shepperd. Nettie was married and widowed three times.
The character-defining elements of Lommer House include:
- an excellent representation of West Quesnel’s residential community;
- an example of the typical small dwelling units built in Quesnel during the 1930s;
- wood frame single storey construction;
- sympathetic renovations and additions made 1960 and 2000;
- rectangle form;
- symmetrical double pane windows on all sides.